Thursday, April 5, 2012

Eight Wonders of the World

The Seven Wonders of the World has historically been a listing of seven sites
known to the Ancient Greeks as the most notable locales in their known world.

Since then, many have developed lists of the “modern” 
Seven Wonders of the World.
The only list that really stands out and has stood the test of time 
for more than a decade
is...the Seven Wonders of the Modern World...
developed by the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Wonder” is defined as a feeling of mingled surprise,
admiration, marvel and astonishment.

Seven Wonders of the World       Seven Wonders of the Modern World
The Colossus of Rhodes                  Channel Tunnel
The Great Pyramid of Giza                 CN Tower
The Hanging Gardens of Babylon       Empire State Building
The Lighthouse of Alexandria             Golden Gate Bridge
The Mausoleum Halicarnassus           Itaipu Dam
The Statue of Zeus at Olympia            Netherlands North Sea Protection Works
The Temple of Artemis at Ephesus      Panama Canal

                                In 1997, CNN announced a listing of the
                                Seven Natural Wonders of the World 
                                Grand Canyon
                                The Great Barrier Reef
                                The Harbour at Rio de Janeiro
                                Mt. Everest
                                Northern Lights 
                                Paricutin Volcano – Mexico
                                Victoria Falls – Africa
                                On July 7 (7-7-07) an organization announced
                                a "new set" (based on online voting) of the
                                "New" Seven Wonders of the World
                                Chichan Itza - Mexico
                                Christ Redeemer - Brazil 
                                The Great Wall - China
                                Petra, Jordan -Ancient City 
                                The Roman Colosseum - Italy
                                The Taj Mahal - India
The Eight Wonders of “Merle's World”

               Pacific Ocean                                         Zen (or Lama of Tibet)
               Niagara Falls                                         Eiffel Tower
               English Countryside                               Polaris
               Rock of Gibraltar                                   Eros

Each above is symbolic of a specific character trait 
or distinguishing human quality.
Match them to the “random-order” clues below ...
signifying my “Eight Wonders of the World!

 Brilliance                                                     Depth of Character
 Love & Romance (physical & spiritual)      Mastery of Engineering
 Power and Might of Thinking                     Strength
 Unique Natural Charm                               Wisdom, Enlightenment, Inspiration

Reward ~ to meet and know someone with all these attributes ... 
may be a Miracle!

A Note from the Universe...says it all :
You only ever have to ride the wave of life ~
not create it ~ to take you anywhere you dream of being.”

"Pearl of Wisdom"
Pause and Experience the wonder and beauty of our world.
There is incredible richness all around us
and we only have to open our eyes to see it.

Merle Baird-Kerr . . . composed November 14, 2011 
To comment ... scroll down (may sign in as "anonymous")
or e-mail ... 

No comments:

Post a Comment